This is a compilation of resources shared at Sibshop Facilitator Trainings and other events hosted by the Sibling Support Project. Thanks to all who have contributed!

Articles, Books and Films

The Sibling Survival Guide: Indispensable Information for Brothers and Sisters of Adults with Disabilities

Thicker Than Water: Essays by Adult Siblings of People with Disabilities

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk

Demystifying Disability: What to Know, What to Say, and How to be an Ally by Emily Ladau

Edna’s Gift

New York Times Parenting article on siblings: https://nyti.ms/2SXvYiR

Spectrum News article on siblings:  https://bit.ly/39CI6wL

Vanier Family Institute article: Strength in Diversity: Positive Impacts of Children with Disabilities https://vanierinstitute.ca/strength-in-diversity-positive-impacts-of-children-with-disabilities/

Poem: Welcome to Holland – often cited by parents of children with disabilities https://www.dsasc.ca/uploads/8/5/3/9/8539131/welcome_to_holland.pdf

Wonder – a book and movie that includes a sibling story

Who Will Love Me by Kaleen Marshall – a book for caregivers. https://www.kaleenmarshall.com/who-will-love-me.

Riding the Bus with My Sister by Rachel Simon

My Dog Is As Smelly As Dirty Socks: And Other Funny Family Portraits – activity book to use with children https://www.amazon.com/Dog-Smelly-Dirty-Socks-Portraits/dp/0307930890

The Good Egg by Jory John https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0062866001/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1.  Read aloud on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXwQQqHwajs.

For more children’s book recommendations visit https://siblingsupport.dev/publications/, “Other Books for Young Readers” and “recommended reading list for young siblings.”

 

Future Planning Resources

The Arc’s Center for Future Planning, including free online tools for siblings and families to create a future plan: https://futureplanning.thearc.org/

Supported Decision Making Resources from the Sibling Leadership Network:   https://siblingleadership.org/2017/08/23/helpful-resource-supported-decision-making/

Charting the Life Course free online tools for people with disabilities and families in multiple languages: https://www.lifecoursetools.com/

In Canada: http://www.partnersforplanning.ca/ (there is a cost for planning services)

 

Online Groups for Siblings

SibNet for adult siblings https://www.facebook.com/groups/SibNet

Sib20 for sibs in their 20s https://www.facebook.com/groups/118970768514797

SibTeen for adolescent siblings https://www.facebook.com/groups/SibTeen

Hermanes Capaces for Spanish-speaking sibs around the world https://www.facebook.com/groups/hermanescapaces

Siblings Of Schizophrenia And Other Serious Mental illness for siblings of individuals with mental health concerns  https://www.facebook.com/groups/174361526486445

 

Organizations

Sibling Support Project https://siblingsupport.dev/

Sibling Leadership Network  https://siblingleadership.org/

Siblings with a Mission  http://www.siblingswithamission.org/

SibStrong https://www.sibstrong.org/

National Black Disability Coalition https://www.facebook.com/black.disability

Sibling Transformation Project https://www.siblingtransformation.org/ 

Siblings Canada  https://canadiancaregiving.org/siblingscanada/

Sibs (UK) https://www.sibs.org.uk/

Siblings Australia http://siblingsaustralia.org.au/

Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation (ALSF) SuperSibs, supporting siblings of children with cancer https://www.alexslemonade.org/childhood-cancer/for-families/supersibs

Parent to Parent USA, offering peer support for parents of children with support needs that strengthens the entire family https://www.p2pusa.org/.

Podcasts

“Constant Chaos” pod focuses on siblings: https://siblingsupport.dev/constant-chaos-podcast-explores-supporting-siblings/

Sibling Support on the Better Behavior Show with Dr. Nicole Beurkens: https://siblingsupport.dev/sibling-support-featured-on-the-better-behavior-show-with-dr-nicole-beurkens/.

“Once Upon a Gene” siblings edition: https://apple.co/2TxHDWC

“Live from Sibshops!” podcast from “A Piece of Hope” series produced by Appleseeds Behavioral Center in Georgia http://bit.ly/2oDvW3q

“Kid Logic” from This American Life https://www.thisamericanlife.org/605/kid-logic

 

Racial Equity Resources

Sibling Support Project Message on Tolerance

Anti-Racist resources for Sibshop Facilitators

BIPOC Sibling Roundtable Series: BIPOC Siblings Share their Stories

https://equityinthecenter.org/aww/

Working Inside Out: Tools for Change by Margo Adair

The Future of Healing: Shifting From Trauma Informed Care to Healing Centered Engagement by Shawn Ginwright, Ph.D.

https://www.racialequitytools.org/glossary

 

Research

The Sibling Leadership Network has compiled a database of major sibling studies since 1962. A tremendous resource!

Sibling Relationships Around the World: Experiences of Siblings of Special Olympics Athletes – Findings from a study on siblings in Africa, Asia and Latin America 1-page Summary: https://bit.ly/3fcyGZR

Sibling engagement resources from Special Olympics: https://resources.specialolympics.org/community-building/families/sibling-engagement

Epilepsy & Behavior journal article on the impact that DEE’s have on siblings, titled “Psychosocial impact on siblings of patients with developmental and epileptic encephalopathies.” https://bit.ly/3sKUXI4

 

Resources for Grieving Siblings

Safe Crossings Foundation (to help children – see “get help” for activities to use with kids): http://safecrossingsfoundation.org/

The Dougy Center – Supporting Grieving Siblings: https://www.dougy.org/grief-resources/tip-sheets/supporting_grieving_siblings/1631

Armfuls of Time: The Psychological Experience of the Child With a Life-Threatening Illness by Barbara M. Sourkes (For parents/professionals)

Annie’s Hope Center for Grieving Kids http://annieshope.org/

The Hospice Foundation – grief resources https://hospicefoundation.org/Grief-(1)

What’s Your Grief? Website resources https://whatsyourgrief.com/

Loss of a Special Needs Sibling (for adult sibs): https://www.facebook.com/groups/554229302095590

Compassionate Friends https://www.compassionatefriends.org/  FB group: https://www.facebook.com/TCFUSA 

Crisis Text Line serves anyone, in any type of crisis, providing access to free, 24/7. https://www.crisistextline.org/text-us/  Text HOME to 741741 to reach a Crisis Counselor

Sibling Leadership Network grief info: https://siblingleadership.org/2020/07/16/new-grief-loss-resources/ and Sib Grief Webinar by Shruti Tekwani from September 2019

 

Trauma-Informed Practices

Books

Gabor Maté:

Peter Levine: